Maintaining and Taking out Yarn braids

So I kept my yarn braids on for about four weeks, I took them out because they kept coming apart.

So it took about an hour to take them all out. I simply had to un-wrap the first thread and unplait the second part of the braid. It was not painful and it didn’t require anything else. Just remember if you do yarn braids, be careful when installing around the edges and the front. If it’s too tight in can ruin your hairline and it will make it difficult to remove the yarn later on.

Maintaining them was easy really. Yarn absorb oils faster than normal hair so it is important to moisture your hair every day with a spritz bottle. This is better than applying the oil to prevent build up. You don’t want to have a gunk of oil on your head now do you.

I washed them once a week because they become extremely heavy with water. You really have to squeeze the heck out of them. And since I have dreads I had to ensure they dried fast. I usually sat in the sun for a while or I would take a walk and the yarn would dry after four hours at least.

 

That was my yarn experience!

Juliet Kamanga

Leave a Reply

